Silsila Fall 2020 Lecture Series, “Islam in Africa: Material Histories”

Description:

Silsila: Center for Material Histories, New York University; organise une série de conférences à partir du 09 septembre 2020, dans le cadre du programme Islam in Africa: Material Histories. Chaque conférence sera organisée en ligne (Webinars) à 12.30 heure de New York (17.30 Abuja & London; 18.30 Berlin & Cape Town; 19.30 Addis & Beirut; 21.30 Islamabad; 22.00 Delhi; 23.30 Jakarta).

Lien d’inscription, voir le lien: https://as.nyu.edu/silsila/events.html

Programme:

Sep 9th “THE LOST ARCHIVE – TRACES OF A CALIPHATE IN A CAIRO SYNAGOGUE” Marina Rustow, Princeton University
Sep 16th “SWAHILI MOSQUES BETWEEN SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA AND THE INDIAN OCEAN” Stéphane Pradines, Aga Khan University, London
Sep 23rd “CONTINUITIES AND CROSSINGS – EAST AFRICAN ILLUMINATED QUR’ANS FROM FAZA AND SIYU” Zulfikar Hirji, York University, Toronto
Sep 30th “ITEMS OF VALUE IN THE WESTERN INDIAN OCEAN” Stephanie Wynne-Jones, University of York
Oct 7th “BROKER STATES & THE ARTICULATION OF MEDIEVAL AFRICA WITH THE ISLAMIC WORLD” François-Xavier Fauvelle, Collège de France
Oct 14th “THE PALACE OF KING NJOYA – COLONIALISM, MODERNITY, AND ISLAM” Mark DeLancey, DePaul University
Oct 20th “RELATIONS BETWEEN THE MAGHREB AND THE BILAD AL-SUDAN AT THE TIME OF THE BERBER EMPIRES” Mehdi Ghouirgate, Université Bordeaux-Montaigne
Oct 22nd “TRANS-SAHARAN SLAVERY AND GNAWA GUINBRI – FROM CONCEALMENT TO EXHIBITION” Cynthia Becker, Boston University
Oct 28th “THE TARIKH AL-FATTASH AND THE MAKING OF THE CALIPHATE OF HAMDALLAHI” Mauro Nobili, University of Illinois
Nov 4th “BECOMING MUSLIM. THE ARCHAEOLOGY OF ISLAMISATION AND TRADE IN EASTERN ETHIOPIA” Timothy Insoll, University of Exeter

Nov 11th “DETERMINANT INDETERMINACIES – ICONIC PHOTOGRAPHS OF A SENEGALESE SUFI SAINT” Allen F. Roberts, UCLA

Nov 18th “PAPERS OF ISLAMIC MANUSCRIPTS AS GEOGRAPHICAL INDICATORS”  Anne Regourd, CNRS, Paris
Nov 24th “TIMBUKTU, THE SCHOLARS, AND RULERS: AHMAD BABA TINBUKTI’s Jalb alnima wa daf‘ al-niqma bi mujānabat al-wulāt al-ẓalama (How to obtain blessing and avoid divine anger by avoiding unjust rulers)” Shamil Jeppie, University of Cape Town

Dec 2nd “GOLD WORK: TECHNIQUES AND EXCHANGE ACROSS THE SAHARA” Sarah Guérin, University of Pennsylvania

Dec 9th “AFRICA IN THE INDIAN OCEAN WORLD – THE PROBLEM OF MARGINS IN ART HISTORY” Prita Meier, NYU